May 04, 2024, 11:40:14 PM

Author Topic: Swashplate Slop  (Read 3909 times)

Offline curmudgeon

• Synergy Veteran
Swashplate Slop
« on: September 04, 2013, 05:00:13 AM »
All three of my swashplates behave the same way.  There is slop between the inner and outer rings.  I tightened the swash by first tightening the 100-364 M3x4 set screw until I felt the resistance of the bearing, and then tightened the 100-316 M3x16 socket screw (page 44).

Not sure where to go from here.

Synergy E5 swashplate slop

Offline copenhagen

Re: Swashplate Slop
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2013, 05:41:35 AM »
If that was made into a zero fit, it probably would bind the servos.  If it did not, it would soon become a clearance fit due to normal wear.  I am no Synergy champ (getting parts together for my 1st build), but I am a mechanical engineering student in my 3rd year with experience in rotating equipment, and I have to say guy, I wouldn't be worried about that at all.

Offline curmudgeon

• Synergy Veteran
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2013, 07:11:29 AM »
The two E5's I've built fly very nicely, despite this slop in the swash.  However, setting up the head at the bench is a little more time consuming compared to other helicopters I've built mainly because i have to snap the swash rings together every time before measuring the pitch to keep the results consistent.  Again, the helicopters fly smoothly.  I just wanted to know if other Synergy owners have noticed this and/or done something about it. 

Offline Darren Lee

• Field Representative
  • Synergy Veteran
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2013, 10:54:02 AM »
It's absolutely not normal.  Just checked one of mine and it has zero slop.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2013, 12:43:05 PM by Darren Lee »
Team Synergy / Rail Blades / Morgan Fuel

Offline curmudgeon

• Synergy Veteran
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2013, 11:02:33 AM »