May 14, 2024, 06:48:22 AM

Author Topic: How to break in OS .50 SX-H  (Read 3734 times)

Offline jayster10

How to break in OS .50 SX-H
« on: January 11, 2016, 11:42:40 AM »
Hi all,

I was hoping someone could give me some advice on how to correctly break in and tune a new OS .50SXH. I'm relatively new to Nitro and need some help getting my new N5C up and running. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jay

Offline Richard Rollins

• Field Representative
  • Synergy Veteran
Re: How to break in OS .50 SX-H
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 05:31:13 PM »
First make sure you run 30% heli fuel. Secondly I recommend if it is a new motor , read the break in procedure in the manual which gives you the beginning needle setting. I run a few tanks through very rich ,, IE the recommended starting point for that particular engine. Fly it in hover get it hot set it down let it cool ,, Fly it again ,, fly it around get it hot and let it cool. After a few tanks you can start to lean it out, very little at a time. There are a lot of post s on RR and HF about breaking in that particular motor.

Hope that helps ,
Rick
Rick
Team Synergy Team Rails, Team Scorpion

Offline jayster10

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 11:07:50 AM »
Rick,

Thanks for the info. I have read so many different suggestions and figured you guys would know. My next real question is, again read a lot of suggestions, how would you recommend determining when an engine is running to lean or rich? I have heard of the pinch test, do you use this?

Also, I just ordered the NC5/TT, awaiting delivery, what parts do I need to install an RPM sensor. I also have ordered the IKON, which I believe has a governor function. Please excuse my ignorance with this stuff, but is it the governor that is attached or part of the IKON that takes readings from the RPM sensor to maintain an RPM? If that is the case, what RPM would you recommend I use for a new non-3D flyer.

Thanks again for any help.

Jay

Offline bgymr