July 06, 2024, 08:35:40 PM

Author Topic: Want to get some information about the E5  (Read 2275 times)

Offline Ice House

Want to get some information about the E5
« on: August 01, 2014, 01:26:15 PM »
After flying a T-rex 450 Pro DFC for a short while, I'm interested in a 550 class heli. The E5 is one of the helis I'm looking at.  I like the fact that there appears to be good support.  Heck, the owner is from Alabama, right next to this old Mississippi boy.  The instructions are written in an English that an old Mississippi boy can understand, and the E5 runs "true" 550 blades and appears to operate fine running 6S lipos.   

My major issue is size/weight. I'm handicapped and fly from a scooter. I want something larger than my 450 that I can see, but I also have to be careful in that I have to be able to physically manipulate the heli... load into/out of van, carry to the pits, carry from the pits to the runway and back, etc.  I've already limited myself to the 550 class for these reasons, but would rather err on less weight than more.  I'm also somewhat atypical as my nerves can only handle about 5 minutes of flying time.  I would like to at least get close to 5 minutes, but that is about all I want. I assume running 6S would contribute to less weight (less than 12S) and would also add simplicity, which I need. I can't easily carry a 12v battery or a generator to the field every week. Therefore, I charge my lipos the morning of and then go fly.  I'm hoping I could get 2 - 3 6S packs, charging at least 2 before I leave and then maybe charging one of those again, plugging the charger into the cigarette lighter in my van (I'm not getting good feedback in regards to charging with my cigarette lighter, which is why I'm looking at getting a 3rd 6S pack). Three flights would do it for me as I would typically bring a plane or my 450 to the field as well, and 5 - 6 flights total is plenty for me.