May 15, 2024, 02:30:25 PM

Author Topic: New E7SE on it's way...  (Read 6452 times)

Offline Ding0

New E7SE on it's way...
« on: August 30, 2015, 02:37:53 PM »
I'm new to electric and would love some help with figuring out what would work best for the style of flying I plan on doing - no serious 3D just inverted on occasion. I use a JR X9503 but will upgrade to the new XG14. I already have 3 JR DS8717 servos that I bought for the project. I know there's a lot of different products out there and have been religously reading about all of them online. I've come up with a couple of items that I think I want to use, and have no idea about the other parts.

Don't I need to know what motor I'm going to use, with the servos and receiver and FBL controller so that I can calculate a maximum current draw, before thinking about what I need as far as battery mAh size, C rating, etc?

Then once I know what the bird will draw under full load I can figure out these items:
1- what SEC or BEC or both to use (or is this also part of my max current draw equation?)
2- what battery to use for a given flight time I want to achieve (at least 10 minutes)
3- what power supply and charger I would need to charge the LiPo's at a reasonable rate from home (I'm first on line to purchase a 24V 1800W system with iCharger 4010Duo or PRC 48V 2000W 4010Duo in a case)

Is there anything I'm missing from this equation? or how should I approach this build?

Help is greatly appreciated!

-EDIT-
Am I overthinking this whole thing...? also I should add that I would like to use a KDE X700XF-535-G3 motor and a Spirit FBL system
« Last Edit: August 30, 2015, 03:06:17 PM by Ding0 »

flyalan

Re: New E7SE on it's way...
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 06:19:21 PM »
By your flying style description you have many options.  Most of which will yield flight times from 5-7 minutes. 10 minutes will be hard to achieve. Yes you are over thinking just a bit  :)