April 28, 2024, 02:00:07 AM

Author Topic: OS 55hzr shimming  (Read 6938 times)

Offline bmclaurin

OS 55hzr shimming
« on: December 20, 2013, 10:52:04 AM »
I'm using CP 30% with a 55 HZR. I've always used the standard head gasket that comes stock with the engine. Engine runs well with decent power, although it has always been a bit on the rich side for a given needle setting. In order to optimize the mixture, I usually need to go farther in on the needles than most others seem to need. I'm just curious if adding an extra shim might help equalize things a bit.

I'm still a nitro novice, but I thought I read somewhere that the engine comes more or less configured for 20% nitro, and that 30% could potentially benefit from an extra head shim. I'm not sure I completely understand the concept, but I gather that, with the extra nitro content, the combustion chamber doesn't need quite as much compression, so the additional shim gives some extra "breathing room," so to speak. I've also read that adding an extra shim usually necessitates richening your mixture. Again, I'm not sure I totally understand the concept, but I suppose that's because there is slightly more displacement and, therefore, slightly less fuel (relatively speaking) in the combustion chamber, thus requiring an slight tweak on the needles to compensate. I might very well have it backward, but this is what got me thinking that an extra shim might possibly help the relatively rich tendencies of my engine.

Anyway, "fixing" this isn't a big deal for me (as the engine runs pretty well as is), so this is more of an educational question at this point. Can anyone out there enlighten me on this topic?

Barry
Electric: Synergy E7SE, Synergy E5, Logo 600SX, Henseleit TDR
Nitro: Synergy N5c, Synergy N7

Offline Helinut

• Field Representative
Re: OS 55hzr shimming
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2013, 02:10:12 PM »
BM,